? How it feels to turn 20 ?

I am officially 20 years old! And I really really really do not feel 20! 20!? I have literally just stopped playing Mario Kart on my DS to come and write this… I turned 20 on the 3rd Jan, I didn’t do much to celebrate I just spent time with my family and boyfriend and went to my favourite restaurant. I am super grateful for the gifts I received and everyone who wished me a happy birthday.

“How does it feel to be 20?”, it feels pretty rubbish. Your 20th birthday isn’t really anything special and throughout the day I kept thinking to myself “oh my god I am actually 20, wow I really need to sort myself out” when actually now I think about it…I am doing pretty good. I mean, how much should you have achieved by the time you turn 20? This will be different for everyone. There is no point me explaining what I have achieved and why I am proud this because you should never compare your life to other people’s. This is what I used to do… I used to think “wow they have moved out already” for example. People achieve things at different times, at different ages and for different reasons and this is something I need to remind myself and something you should remind yourselves.

“How does it feel to be 20?”, It feels scary, if I am getting older, that also means my family is getting older. It also means that I am halfway through my 2nd year of university, that I am 20 years away from 40, 40 years away from 60!!

“How does it feel to be 20?” taking more of a positive approach, I feel blessed that I am still here and made it through the bad times and the good times and that I know I can make it through even more bad times and good times.

How did it feel for you guys when you turned 20? Let me know.

xx


36 thoughts on “? How it feels to turn 20 ?

  1. I turned 20 last October but until now I’m figuring out what should I do differently. Lol it’s very weird but one of my goal was to get a job and I’m proud I’ve done that. I don’t know what’s next after that ??‍♀️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy belated birthday Sharnah! 20 is such a weird age, I’m so glad I’ve finally moved on from it now haha! I definitely agree with your perspective that age is basically only a number and everyone classes achievements differently, and you should never look at what other people are achieving at your age and focus your energy on what you’re doing! Good luck with the rest of uni and I hope you enjoy being 20 before the big 2 1 comes along!

    Jenny x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh congrats you’re no longer a teenager! I’m turning 21 in February, I have definitely taken the route of just winging whatever’s thrown at me and hope for the best! x x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn\’t want to turn 20 I was like \’omg I\’m not going to be a teenager anymore!\’ but like you said you don\’t just grow up and stop playing Mario Kart overnight! I spent my 21st in Disneyland the perfect way to say I still have a childish side and that doesn\’t bother me!
    I\’m 22 now and still haven\’t moved out so honestly? don\’t worry about it we\’ll all get there in our own time, you\’ve got a loving family and boyfriend and that\’s what really matters in life!
    I hope you had a good birthday!
    Jess xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. omg I am planning on spending my 21st in Disneyland aswell haha I couldn\’t think of a better way to spend it! Yes that is very true!! Thanks so much and thanks for your comment!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes omg do it! It was one of my best birthdays ever! We met so many characters and the fireworks show was spectacular it made my day xx

        Like

  5. I\’m not going to tell you how old I am but suffice it to say that my turning 20 was a very loooooong time ago, haha. But I do remember thinking that it was no big deal, my 21st was much more of a milestone. I think you\’re absolutely right, though, \”you should never compare your life to other people’s.\” This is such a great maxim to live by. I really enjoyed this post, thank you for sharing! X

    Lisa | http://www.lisasnotebook.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha, I can totally relate with you on the anxiety of turning a year older and yes it’s so easy to compare your accomplishments to others but I guess that’s where we need to look at the positive side! Happy Belated birthday! ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment